Journalism award nominations sought by Florida Bar

Florida Politics by Staff Reporters

July 11, 2018

The call for entries is out for The Parker Thomson Awards for Outstanding Legal Journalism in Florida and the Susan Spencer-Wendel Lifetime Achievement Award, The Florida Bar announced Wednesday.

For the Thomson awards, work submitted for consideration may include news stories, series, features, editorials, blogs, documentaries, columns, special sections — anything that is produced by a news organization and deals with law and lawyers, courts, law enforcement, the delivery of legal services, the effectiveness of the justice system, the work of the organized Bar or related matters.

Any newspaper, radio station, blog, television station, wire service or online-only publication located in Florida is eligible to enter. The entry deadline is July 31.

Entries must have been published or produced between Jan. 1, 2017, and Dec. 31, 2017. Content of entries may be current or historical, objective or analytical in nature. Special consideration may be given to entries that demonstrate courage or tenacity on the part of the news medium or the journalists who produced the entry.

Reporters receiving first-place awards will take home $500, and those receiving second place will get $250. If multiple reporters are bylined on a winning entry, the cash award will be divided evenly among them.

Reporters who choose not to accept the monetary prizes may opt to make a donation to the First Amendment Foundation. All honorees and their media outlets will receive plaques.


Leave a Reply

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

%d bloggers like this: