First Amendment Foundation Seeking Nominations for the Lucy Morgan Award for Open Government Reporting

For Immediate Release: November 16, 2017
Contact : Rachel Gelbmann
The First Amendment Foundation (FAF) announced the creation of the Lucy Morgan Award for Open Government Reporting at a reception November 15 in Tallahassee featuring Pulitzer Prize winning author of Devil in the Grove, Gilbert King.
The Lucy Morgan Award for Open Government Reporting is named for Lucy Morgan, the former Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter for the St. Petersburg Times (now the Tampa Bay Times) who broke countless stories using public records. The award honors a Florida journalist who smartly uses public records to report stories exposing corruption, revealing government conflicts of interest or otherwise serving the public interest.
The contest is open to all Florida journalists and there is no fee for entries.  Journalists can nominate their own work. Nominations can also be made by supervisors or editors.
Entries must be submitted to the First Amendment Foundation at by December 15, 2017.
The award will be presented at FAF’s annual Sunshine Luncheon on January 23, 2018 at the Governors Club in Tallahassee.
Contest Rules:
  • The contest is open to any Florida-based journalist (print, broadcast or digital).
  • Entries can include up to three news stories, columns or editorials published in a calendar year. They can be a series on a single subject or reflect a body of work.
  • Entries will be judged by a First Amendment Foundation panel based upon factors such as the difficulty of acquiring the public records, the types and amounts of records used, the overall quality of the published work and the impact of the work.
Tickets to the luncheon can be purchased on FAF’s website at Sponsorships and tables are also available. Contact for more information.

Leave a Reply

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

%d bloggers like this: